top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGary Hewitt

Write a poem. I might just do that.

Ask yourself, where has the sun been these last few weeks. Hello dear friends, and thank you to Shilpa and Jo for stopping by on my previous post. I look outside and see our local star shining bright. I'd grown accustomed to the clouds and rain. A bit dull though. I prefer sunshine. Shame the solar heat has been turned down. It is December mind. Perhaps the leaves will be crisp and easier to gather. It rather needs to be done.



I will submit a story later. It's a parody of the world I inhabit. You know, the esoteric one with dollops of weirdness. This story is fun. Some will laugh, some will possibly grumble. It 's ok though. In life, we cannot please everyone. Otherwise there'd be no in between shades. It can't all be Stepford Wives smiles. Every now and then someone will scowl. Sorry about that.


I remember a video called Black Hole Sun. Soundgarden sang it. However, the video stood out. It's rather surreal and a touch disturbing. I didn't follow Soundgarden but that song/video differed from the rest. I look at it now and fancy they were visionaries. It reminds me of videos on TikTok today. TikTok, where all are encouraged to become court jesters and not realise it. Someone thinks we are all clowns.


I said a poem didn't I? Let me pen one now. I have no idea where it's going. It's unimportant really.


Nowhere


Lives are gigabytes

Flowing from carpals

To plastic disharmony

for LCD


We swim

Actually not all

Some splishy-splash

Into nowhere holes


Blowing trumpets

Or perhaps noses

Not comprehending

Why no-one cares


A poem staggers

From a paved page

Etched into digital

Memoirs of oddness


Not to be read

Or listened to

Kind of just is

Like us


When we are gone

Is there a tone

Buzzing eternal

Or silence?


Not sure what's best

Deafening ennui

Or stillness

A dire dilemma.


I'll take my leave

Disconnect

Sleep.

Quite nice actually.


Until next I type. Adieu and remember keep reading.




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

At last

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page