top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGary Hewitt

Wait, no don't work, reload, upload failed

Hello dear friends, technology is a boon isn't it? It can achieve many actions that before would require quite a lot of effort and work and now, a few key presses and before you sits your endeavours in no time at all. Or so you would think.



Before I go onwards let me express love and gratitude to Anna, Shilpa and Jo for stopping on by on my previous post. Much appreciated as always and it's great to see that you find my words useful and entertaining.


At the beginning of this week I decided that I would upload a video to Canva in the belief that I could record myself, take away the background and put up a new one along with some timing to bring it all to life. It is certainly possible and it would have been rather fine to have done so. However, little was I to know what pitfalls lay ahead.



I recorded the video on my phone initially as that's the perfect space for me to record and I was relatively happy. I knew it'd take a while to upload so I thought let's do this overnight. The morning arrived and upon opening the phone I saw the dreaded words upload failed (well actually it was a picture of my video with a huge red exclamation mark). I guessed it wasn't down to nefarious content but some failure on either my phone or Canva's servers.


I sighed and thought, plan B. Let me transfer from my phone to the PC and then upload. I used bluetooth and whilst it took a good hour or so it put me in a position to upload to Canva once more. I embarked upon this mission but again it took a lifeage and I had a meeting online at 7pm so had to pull the plug as it slowed down my connection. Once again, I thought upload it overnight and once more...Red exclamation mark.



Those precepts of just for today do not anger were being tested but I was not to be denied. I did post up a video on Facebook where I used my voice (not my visage) and after a while I did get it to work. Some of the microphone is a bit muffled at the start and it did a splendid job of picking up the hard drive whirring but it worked. I uploaded that one to Facebook and thankfully all was well.


I then thought, right over night I shall upload my original unedited spiel off to YouTube (by the way, useless fact, spiel in German refers to a game/playing a game). I came down this morning to see 27%loaded and it was frozen. I sighed, reloaded and away it went once again until at last the said beastie finally made it onto the servers. I must assume that my PC went into sleep mode and stopped uploading which I know I can turn off but I did assume it'd carry on uploading despite this issue.



Anyway, the moral here is to persist and I guess learn. I quite like the idea of videos and it won't always be readings I do on there but a variety of different angles, possibly some Vlogs too if I can steer away from interminable uploading times!Until next I type have a wonderful weekend and remember keep reading.


For the record here is one of the videos, the other can be found via my facebook profile. :







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

At last

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page