top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGary Hewitt

One Time Pestword

Hello dear friends. How many times have we used technology to solve a problem only for a new one to surface? I'm sure that many of us have had this issue where a seemingly small issue can manifest into something far more problematic. This was me yesterday eve.


Before I venture a few more words let me express my gratitude, kudos and love to Anna, Shilpa and Jo for reading my previous blog post. As always it's much appreciated especially as the climate is rather inclement at this juncture.



Time now to elucidate upon my opening paragraph. After a considerable amount of deliberation I decided to take the upgraded version of Duolingo which transpires to amount to £5 a month. For me, the cost is more than reasonable to learn a new language without the bombardment on adverts on the current version as well as presenting the whole programme as opposed to the more trimmed down application.


Ergo, I enrolled and went through the process. All was going well as in updating details until we came to the point of procuring the package I'd decided to select. Ah, but the gods of complication decided to scupper such preparations. I almost got to the end when I was accosted by the dreaded One Time Password/Passcode option. Now, this is set up on my previous phone, so I dashed upstairs, scribed the message and entered the code after an interminable delay in the text arriving.



Incorrect. Resend or retry. I sighed with a veritable air of resignation and tried once more and after another delay tried the new code. Wrong. Try again. You've had 3 attempts and this process is now delayed, please contact your bank if this continues.


I applied due diligence in entering the code and the aura of frustration claimed victory over my attempts to sign up. I resisted the urge to throw the phone into the nearest wall (a. would have been expensive and (b. Whatever happened to just for today do not anger and decided to divert my attention onto something else. Shall I try again later or do I carry on with the unpaid version I ask myself.


Herein lies the paradox. Technology undoubtedly can make our lives easier and pleasurable but conversely they can make things awkward and frustrating at the same time. I'm sure there's a little deity of technology is looking at the person typing this article thinking, hopeless user alert but nevertheless I'm sure we've all had moments like this.


Well, that's it for today and let me finish by saying, don't let anger cloud your day. Live life with a smile on your face and sun in your heart and let those indignations and frustrations flow past in the light of experience.





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

At last

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page